Brit Awards 2014 Nominations

Last night the nominees for this years Brit Awards were announced at “The BRITs Are Coming: Nominations Launch Party” which was hosted by Nick Grimshaw. The star studded event which featured performances from Rudimental, Tinie Tempah and Pixie Lott revealed Sam Smith as the winner of the “Critic’s Choice” Award.

The highlight of the nominations was David Bowie. As the former winner of the “Outstanding Contribution Award“, and who has been radio silent for nearly a decade until he surprised the world with the announcement of his new album “The Next Day” this time last year, Bowie has now been nominated for two Brit awards in 2014: British Male Solo Artist and British Album of the Year.

Also leading the way in the nominations was Bastille and Disclosure who are going head to head with four nominations each – all in the same categories! Next in line is Ellie Goulding and Rudimental with three nominations each, whilst One Direction, Laura Mvula, Tom Odell, John Newman and Arctic Monkeys are next on the list with two nominations each.

Set to be an exciting night, the countdown begins to Wednesday 19th February when we’ll find out who will be the lucky winners, but for now we’ll leave you with the list of category nominations – who are your favourites?

British Male Solo Artist:

David Bowie

Jake Bugg

James Blake

John Newman

Tom Odell

British Female Solo Artist:


Ellie Goulding

Jessie J

Laura Marling

Laura Mvula

British Group:

Arctic Monkeys



One Direction


British Breakthrough Act:



Laura Mvula

London Grammar

Tom Odell

Critics’ Choice (already awarded):

Sam Smith

British Single

Bastille – Pompeii

Calvin Harris/Ellie Goulding – I Need Your Love

Disclosure featuring AlunaGeorge – White Noise

Ellie Goulding – Burn

John Newman – Love Me Again

Naughty Boy featuring Sam Smith – La La La

Olly Murs – Dear Darlin’

One Direction – One Way Or Another (Teenage Kicks)

Passenger – Let Her Go

Rudimental featuring Ella Eyre – Waiting All Night

British Album Of The Year:

Arctic Monkeys – AM

Bastille – Bad Blood

David Bowie – The Next Day

Disclosure – Settle

Rudimental – Home

British Producer Of The Year:

Ethan Johns

Flood & Alan Moulder

Paul Epworth

International Male Solo Artist:

Bruno Mars



John Grant

Justin Timberlake

International Female Solo Artist:

Janelle Monae

Katy Perry

Lady Gaga



International Group:

Arcade Fire

Daft Punk


Kings of Leon

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Tune into ITV on Wednesday 19th February at 8pm to watch live.