BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2013

The time has come again to crown the BBC Sports Personality of the Year, and this year sees ten of Britain’s most dedicated and successful sportsmen & women go head-to-head in a public vote on Sunday 15th December.

With an illustrious candidate list to choose from, the expert panel had some tough decisions to make when finalising their short list to ten, eventually selecting a varied cross-section of numerous sporting fields.

Globally renowned stars such as Mo Farah, Sir Ben Ainslie & Andy Murray are included among the contenders, along with Christine Ohuruogu, Hannah Cockroft, Chris Froome, Justin Rose, AP McCoy, Ian Bell & Leigh Halfpenny, who have all had such a successful year in their chosen profession.

This year’s athletics World Championships saw three of our candidates crowned champions in their respective disciplines, including Hannah Cockroft (wheelchair racing), Mo Farah (5,000m and 10,000m), and Christine Ohuruogu regaining her 400m world title. Decorated jockey AP McCoy rode an unprecedented 4,000th winner, Andy Murray famously ended Britain’s 77-year wait for a men’s single champion at Wimbledon, and Sir Ben Ainslie was drafted into team USA’s faltering America’s Cup crew to help mastermind an unbelievable victory. Cricketer Ian Bell was an integral part of England’s Ashes winning team, whilst cyclist Chris Froome followed in last year’s SPOTY winner, Sir Bradley Wiggins’ footsteps, by dominating this year’s Tour de France. Leigh Halfpenny was a starring figure in the British and Irish Lions’ triumphant tour of Australia, whilst golfer Justin Rose secured his maiden major win in the US Open.

With an expected crowd of 12,000, this year’s 60th Anniversary event will be hosted at the First Direct Arena in Leeds by Gary Linker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan. Voting details and nominee’s respective phone numbers will be announced during Sunday night’s show, whilst this year sees the public being able to cast their vote online for the very first time.

In addition to the main event there will be separate awards given out on the night including;

Team of the Year
Coach of the Year
Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
Young Sports Personality of the Year
Sports Personality of the Year Diamond Award
Helen Rollason Award
Sports Unsung Hero

Tune into BBC One at 19.40 GMT this Sunday to watch the ceremony take place and make sure to cast your vote for your favourite!