Andy Murray Wins BBC SPOTY 2013

Following on from our preview to this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year, we’re giving you a brief review of the night’s events, including what the eventual winner Andy Murray had to say when he was presented with the prestigious award.

The main prize also featured runner-up and third placed awards, which were handed out to rugby union star Leigh Halfpenny and jockey AP McCoy respectively. But the number one spot was given to the 26-year-old Scot, who became the first Briton in 77 years to be crowned men’s singles champion at Wimbledon in the summer, beating Novak Djokovic in the final.

The ceremony took place at the First Direct Arena in Leeds, although Murray was linked via satellite from Miami due to his busy training schedule ahead of the new season. 18 time Grand Slam champion Martina Navratilova presented him with the award and here’s what he had to say;

“Thanks to Martina for giving this to me. She’s possibly the greatest tennis player of all time.

I’ve got a few people to thank – my family first. A lot are there in the crowd. They’ve supported me since I was a kid, making a lot of sacrifices for me. I couldn’t have done it without you.

My team are also all standing behind the camera here. They’ve been with me for a long time and I also couldn’t have done it without them. Thank you to all of them.

I know sometimes I’m not the easiest person to support but I’ve had a lot of pressure on me for a long time. I’m glad I managed to do it.
No matter how excited I try to sound, my voice always sounds boring – that’s just my voice. I’m sorry. I’m very excited right now. Thank you very much everyone.”

Murray became only the fourth tennis player to win the award in its 60 year history, joining the likes of  Ann Jones (1969), Virginia Wade (1977) and Greg Rusedski (1997).

Other awards to be handed out on the night included Team of the Year which went to the British & Irish Lions rugby union team for their 16-year wait series win against Australia, whilst their head coach Warren Gatland claimed Coach of the Year.

The full list of award winners were as follows;

Overseas Sports Personality of the Year: Sebastian Vettel

Young Sports Personality of the Year: Amber Hill

Sports Personality of the Year Diamond Award: Sir Alex Ferguson

Helen Rollason Award: Anne Williams

Sports Unsung Hero: Joe and Maggie Forber

Andy Murray won the award with a landslide 56% of the public vote with a full breakdown of the short-listed candidates below;

Andy Murray: 401,470
Leigh Halfpenny: 65,913
AP McCoy: 57,854
Mo Farah: 51,945
Ben Ainslie: 48,140
Chris Froome: 37,343
Hannah Cockroft: 26,151
Christine Ohuruogu: 13,179
Justin Rose: 9,833
Ian Bell: 5,626
Total votes: 717,454